Our History

The Phi Sigma Sigma Foundation, Inc. was announced in the Spring 1965 issue of The Sphinx.

“The Foundation will incorporate all of Phi Sigma Sigma’s philanthropy funds such as the Dollars for Scholars Fund (loans to graduates and undergraduates of Phi Sigma Sigma), the National Scholarship Fund (gifts to undergraduates who aid as colonizers and to graduates who aid as resident advisors), and the Philanthropic Grant Fund (to universities and institutions for scientific as well as cultural advancement). The first board of directors included Ann Reiter (Iota, ’39), Past Grand Archons Veachey Rudolph Bloom (Xi, ’46) and Ruth Cooper Breslauer (Kappa, ’45) (also the Fraternity’s legal advisor), and Grand Archon Dr. Florence Denmark (Nu, ’52)."

The Foundation was formally incorporated on November 15, 1969. The first chair was Ilene Olansky (Zeta, '52).That year the Foundation awarded $2,000 in scholarships and educational grants, the Arthur Markowitz Book Award to one law student for $50, and six $250 educational grants.


Since 1969, the Phi Sigma Sigma Foundation has raised tax-deductible donations to directly benefit Phi Sigma Sigma sisters through leadership programming, scholarships and need-based educational grants, and more recently, through compassion grants for those facing catastrophic events. The Phi Sigma Sigma Foundation also supports disaster relief worldwide and facilitates volunteer projects in our local communities to help the disadvantaged achieve readiness for school and college entrance.